Smoke on the Square!

We're excited to host the First Annual Jennings County Hope Foundations Smoke on the Square BBQ Cook Off. Competition will take place in Historic Vernon, Indiana. This is a national BBQ contest that is sanctioned by the Kansas City BBQ Society and is a qualifier for the Jack and American Royal. Cash Prizes of $5,000 with awards down to 5th place.


Event Forms
Entry Form
Judge's Application

Competition Schedule
(tentative schedule of times and events subject to change)
Thursday 7.20.17
5:00pm - Placing competition teams begins
5:00pm - KCBS Registration begins
9:00pm - KCBS Registration ends

Friday 7.21.17
8:00 am - KCBS Registration begins Meat Inspections begins
8:00 pm - KCBS Registration closes - Meat Inspections End
5:00 pm - Team and community fish fry
6:00 pm - Golf cart parade contest
6:00 pm - Cooks meeting in the Annex
Square dancing

Saturday 7.22.17
9:00 am - Judge's Check-in starts
10:30 am - Judge's Meeting in the Annex
12:00 pm - Competition starts
11:55 - 12:05 Chicken
12:25 - 12:35 Pork Ribs
12:55 - 1:05 Pulled Pork
1:25 - 1:35 Brisket
1:30 - Competition ends (approx)
3:00 pm - Award Ceremony
5:00 pm - Community Pitch in dinner. Meat will be provided with the community bringing the side dishes and there own table service and drinks.
Musical entertainment

Who's Coming (Contestants)
(Contestants are added to this list after they register)
Acme BBQ - Madison, IN
Bankin Baby
Blue Chip BBQ
Big JT
Butts and Racks BBQ
Farmers Retreat BBQ
High on the Hawg - Fayetteville, TN
Little Bob's BBQ - Indianapolis, IN
Local Yokels - Crossville, IL
On Target
Rooters N Tooters
Smoke Freaks, LLC - Chicago, IL
Smoke N Peppers - New Palestine, IN
Smokin 4 Play
Thunderhog BBQ
Uncle Toads Competition BBQ, 2017 winner of the Indiana BBQ Trail


Who's Coming (Judges)
Phil Alvey
Paul and Pam Berry
David Byers - Bloomington, IN
Terry England
Roger Fair - Fayetteville, PA
William Freese - Cincinnati, OH
Don and Kathy Gibson
John Paul Jones - Bexley, OH
Larry Pogue - Blacklick, OH
Arika Kemp, Roger Kemp Sr. and Nataliya Kemp - Paragon, IN
John Newell - Prospect, KY
Wayne Schuetz
Charles Sutton
Brian White
David Williams - Bloomington, IN


For more, Information, Contact Kevin Dougherty at

© 2017 Town of Vernon, Indiana. All rights reserved.
Website Developed and Maintained by Wolf Creative Services